Parents as Teachers

Model Affiliate

THE REGION A PARTNERSHIP FOR CHILDREN RECEIVES NATIONAL RECOGNITION AS A BLUE RIBBON AFFILIATE

Endorsed Sites Demonstrate High-Quality Implementation of Evidence-Based Home Visiting

The Region A Partnership for Children (RAPC) has earned a prestigious endorsement from the Parents as Teachers National Center, Inc., (PATNC) as a Blue Ribbon Affiliate, making it one of the top-performing home visiting affiliates within the PATNC’s international network. The official designation was made on October 1, 2019.

Being named a Blue Ribbon Affiliate affirms that the RAPC affiliate is a high-quality member of the home visiting field, implementing the evidence-based Parents as Teachers model with fidelity. Families in the Region A community are positively impacted by the services delivered by this program. The program includes home visits, group connections, child screening, and connections to community resources. It equips parents with knowledge and resources to prepare their children for a stronger start in life and greater success in school.

Eligibility: All families with children –prenatal to age 5– in Cherokee, Clay, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, and Swain Counties as well as the Qualla Boundary are eligible for this FREE in-home visitation program. The program is completely voluntary, partnering families with certified Parent Educators and a nationally recognized, evidence-based curriculum.

Parents as Teachers (PAT) builds strong communities, thriving families and children that are healthy, safe and ready to learn. The internationally-recognized evidence-based home visiting model is backed by 35 years of research-proven outcomes for children and families. PAT currently serves nearly 200,000 families in all 50 U.S. states, 115 Tribal organizations, six other countries, and one U.S. territory.

For more information and to learn about how to participate in Group Connections, “Like” us on Facebook.

CountyParent Educator NameContact informationFacebook
CherokeeSharon Nicholssnichols@rapc.org
ClayHope Burchhburch@hayesvillees.org
Haywood 1 Jennifer Smith jsmith@rapc.org Facebook.com/HaywoodParentsAsTeachers
Haywood 2 Stacy Lakeslake@rapc.org
Jackson Patsy Allen pallen@rapc.org Facebook.com/RAPCPAT
Macon Meghan Cribbs mcribbs@mppnhc.org Facebook.com/MaconPAT
Swain Contact Randi Braunrbraun@rapc.org Facebook.com/RegionAKids